January 6, 2020

Another Gregorian year comes to pass. Halfway through my personal year 50, and just on the other side of treatment. Looking forward to a day of no side effects and hopefully some time very soon. Jet lag and chemotherapy two days after I got back from the UK, plus a cold I brought home with me, made December far more of a struggle than I had expected it to be. For almost a week I didn’t do much of anything besides sleep and drink water, and I’m still trying to get my legs back underneath me after all that.

2020 is shaping up in a good way with projects. Waiting to hear about one project that went into limbo once I started treatment. My Patreons are being revamped with new content and more reasonable/appropriate tier structures. I will be speaking at the International Coptic Congress in Brussels in July, my first lecture as a Ph.D. I’ve been asked in the last few months to appear on several podcasts, which I had put off due to just not feeling well/needing to conserve what energy I did have, but am hopeful to be able to make those appearances. Starting in April I will be doing some traveling for teaching. I’m balancing things better, making sure that I do not forget myself on my internal priority list, and settling into life-after-grad-school. While I am a work in progress, it’s also fair to say I’ve always been a work in progress, and we all are, as long as we live. Here’s hoping this year brings good work.


Previous post
Tomorrow afternoon is my third and final chemotherapy treatment. Grateful to be at the point where it will be recovery versus continued suffering
Next post
For the third day in a row, I’ve been stood up for appointments that people made with me. Stress seems baked in for everyone from the governmental